Godsend Pup

Razldazl Godsend Greyhound pup hiding in the long grass

Jason Thompson has won his fifth Group 1 AJS Corporation Silver Chief as outsider Godsend ($15.50) strode to a 29.93 win to claim the $75,000 first prize at The Meadows in a fantastic start to the 2012 greyhound season.

The son of Bombastic Shiraz and Sensation Lee began well from box one and skipped away down the back to set up a race-winning lead (splits of 5.06 and 17.74), eventually running out a five and a quarter length winner over the fast-finishing Glen Gallon ($5.20) and the Heston Bale ($2.70), with both greyhounds finding trouble in running.
Owned by Serg Buccilli, Godsend joined Thompson’s four former Silver Chief winners, including Light Of Fire (1994), Awesome Assassin (1996), Ben’s Fury (2005) and Fedex (2009) on the Group 1 honour roll, which also includes past champions such as Brett Lee and Chariot Supreme.“This is easily the biggest thrill for me in greyhound racing. We are so proud of the dog and it is great when you have people like Jason Thompson, son Ben and Seona Hood looking after your dogs,” said Buccilli, who purchased the blue blood as a three-month old pup as a repeat mating to Group 1 Paws Of Thunder winner Lochinvar Marlow.Trainer Jason Thompson said Godsend was drawn perfectly in the Group 1 classic.“We drew the right box and we had the right dogs boxed around us and it is fantastic to win such a great race like the Silver Chief.”

Godsend improved his record to seven wins from 15 starts, pushing his prizemoney to $111,375 after Sunday’s success.

Group racing continues at The Meadows in February for the Australian Cup Carnival for the running of five Group races, including the Group 1 MTD Australian Cup ($175,000 to the winner), the Group 1 Macro Meats Temlee ($75,000), the Group 1 Macro Meats Australian Super Stayers ($75,000), the Group 2 Macro Meats Zoom Top ($40,000) and the Group 2 Macro Meats Rookie Rebel

In the Silver Chief after the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Cape Hawke ($2.60fav), 5th Soda Boy ($23.50), 6th Whispering Wind ($43.50) 7th Hutmaker ($10.60) and McCosker Speed ($60.80).
Godsend is raced by Sergio Buccilli and is trained by Jason Thompson at Pearcedale in Victoria.  He is a Black Dog whelped September 2009 by Bombastic Shiraz from Sensation Lee (Brett Lee x Grigorieva). Godsend has won seven of his 15 starts and has been placed on five occasions. With the $75,000 first prize for the Silver Chief it took his current stake earnings to $111,375.

Beautiful Godsend pup hiding in the long grass out of Razldazl Alice.

The Classic is one steeped in tradition, first being run in 1964. Directors of the Melbourne Greyhound Racing association saw fit to name The Classic after the greyhound “Silver Chief” who was whelped in 1936 and owned by Ray Herbert. Silver Chief was a “Waterloo Cup” winner in 1939 and performed admirably on the speed coursing circuit as well. He raced in both Melbourne and Sydney and was keenly sought after for stud duties once his racing career was finished.
The cream of racing have won this event referred to as the Derby of Greyhound Racing.
Champions such as Plunder Road, Black Diro, Satan’s Legend, Tempix, Chariot Supreme, Ginger, Light of Fire and Awesome Assassin to name a few.  Many have gone on to produce sons who have also won the Classic.
The mighty Tempix won in 1978 then produced sons who won in (81) Tempix Image and Bold Assail in 1982.
Australian super sire Chariot Supreme won the race in record time in 1983.  His progeny took out the honours in 1986 (Hopeful Supreme), 1989 (Autumn Chariot) and 1991 (Bomber Gleeson).
In recent years Light of Fire won in 1994 then produced greats such as Awesome Assassin and Kantarn Bale.  Awesome Assassin went on to sire 2005 winner Ben’s Fury. Jason Thompson has now set a unique record training five winners of the great race.

Listed below is the star studded Silver Chief honour roll.

1964 Barunah, 1965 Spartan Prince, 1966 Phantom’s Return, 1967 Lord Baden, 1968 Dupondy Two, 1969 Plunder Road, 1970 Black Diro, 1971 Michael Takiri, 1972 Getaway, 1973 Flash Gordon, 1974 Petillant, 1975 Nigger Chimes, 1976 Fritz Mactavish, 1977 Satan’s Legend, 1978 Tempix, 1979 San Remo, 1980 Mork The Stork, 1981 Tempix Image, 1982 Bold Assail, 1983 Chariot Supreme, 1984 Rumpus Pappa, 1985 Supreme Spot, 1986 Hopeful Supreme, 1987 Calamity Kid, 1988 Ginger, 1989 Autumn Chariot, 1990 Enfield, 1991 Bomber Gleeson, 1992 Nevik, 1993 Plugger Fever, 1994 Light Of Fire, 1995 Zealous Guy, 1996 Awesome Assassin, 1997 Hotshot, 1998 “Not Held”, 1999 Jamella Prince, 1999 Kantarn Bale, 2000 Dave’s Mentor, 2001Burali Bale, 2002 “Not Held”, 2003 Jimmy Neutron, 2004 Big Daddy Cool, 2005 Ben’s Fury, 2006 Closing Argument, 2007 Meticulous, 2008 Regal Thyme, 2009 Fedex, 2010 Enry Walt and 2011 Kilty Lad.
Share...Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedIn
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× six = 12

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>